The Mighty Echoes - Doo Wop Til You Drop


Doo Wop Til You Drop showcases their superlative supernatural harmonies and complex vocal arrangements.

The Mighty Echoes debut on Memphis International’s Brooklyn International imprint with an album that features four amazing voices… and nothing else! That’s it -- just four singers making vocal music in the a cappella tradition that began with Gregorian chants and reached its apogee on the street corners of the boroughs of New York.

The Mighty Echoes have been going strong in Los Angeles since the 1980’s but pay homage to the music’s origins and promulgation in the subtitle “From Erasmus Hall to Echo Park.” Their reputation for vocal perfection and mirthful performances have made them a favorite among doo- wop aficionados and glitterati, alike, having performed for the likes of President Bill Clinton, Lou Reed and at the Superbowl. Their TV credits include "Who¹s the Boss?" "Murphy Brown," "Family Matters," "Brooklyn Bridge," and "Frank’s Place." They have performed on bills with Ray Charles, Chuck Berry, Steve Wonder, Tony Orlando, The Coasters, The Marvelettes, The Marcels, Chubby Checker, Gene Chandler, Little Anthony, The Shirelles, and The Diamonds.

Doo Wop Till You Drop includes their four part takes on fourteen evergreens including ”Fools Fall In Love,” “What’s Your Name,” “The Lion Sleeps Tonight,” “Teddy Bear,” “The Great Pretender,” etc. The album showcases their superlative supernatural harmonies and complex vocal arrangements. You’ve heard these songs before, but never this way. Dion (of Dion & The Belmonts) whose “Teenager in Love” is included comments, “we never had voices like these in the Bronx.”

The Mighty Echoes are baritone Harvey Shield who hails from England and wrote The Bay City Roller’s “The Way I Feel Tonight,” the tartan terrors’ last hit. Cleveland’s own, second tenor Keith Joe Dick a/k/a “The Rockabilly Romeo” b/w “The King of Schmatlz” appears after a lengthy stint as himself in Keith Joe Dick and the Dickettes. And, yes, that’s his real name.

The bass voice of Charlie Davis has been described “as deep as an open trench.” He’s a Californian now but actually does come from New York City, lending the group an aura of authenticity that comes from the depths of the New York Subway. That ethereal “alto-spheric” first tenor is Jon Rubin’s. He’s the guy who donated his family name to long-running power pop icon group The Rubinoos of Berserkley Records renown. The album was produced by Rubinoos co- founder Tommy Dunbar.

More Information
Catalog Number MIR2026
Release Date Nov 22, 2015
Artist The Mighty Echoes
Record Label Memphis International Records
Music Genre Doo Wop
Explicit Content No
Format CD
Number of Discs 1
Box Lot Quantity 30
Track List
  1. Why Do Fools Fall in Love?
  2. Under the Boardwalk
  3. Teenager in Love
  4. Monster Mash
  5. Gloria
  6. Sh-Boom
  7. What Time Is It?
  8. Blue Moon
  9. Teddy Bear
  10. Remember Then
  11. What's Your Name?
  12. The Lion Sleeps Tonight
  13. The Great Pretender
  14. Do You Love Me?
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
© 2021 Memphis International Records. All Rights Reserved.