James Luther Dickinson feat. North Mississippi Allstars - I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone: Lazarus Edition

CD Version. Includes bonus download card containing over 1 hour of rare recordings.

When Jim Dickinson died on August 15, 2009 at the age of 67, his hometown paper, The Memphis Commercial Appeal, ran a lengthy, appreciative obituary chronicling his many achievements and credits. The lead read "The North Mississippi Allstars have lost their father, Bob Dylan has lost a 'brother,' rock and roll has lost one of its great cult heroes and Memphis has lost a musical icon with the death of Jim Dickinson."

His work in the studio with the likes of Dylan, the Rolling Stones, Big Star, the Replacements, Ry Cooder and others had consistently put him in the front ranks of recording studio "go to" guys, not only in Memphis, but in Muscle Shoals and Miami, as well. His music was powerful, a driving force, marked by explosive spontaneity, it was an outlet for a creative spirit who found inspiration in the artists with whom he worked as well as those who had influenced him early on. Son Luther Dickinson writes in his poignant liner notes, "Nobody could rock as hard as he could."

 I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone (Lazarus Edition) is Jim's 5th album released on Memphis International Records. The "Lazarus Edition" is the second album culled from his Friday, June 2, 2006 concert on the stage of the New Daisy Theater on Beale Street. He is backed by the North Mississippi All Stars, sons Luther on guitar and vocals and Cody on bass and vocals along with de facto/honorary son Chris Chew on bass plus session jack-of-all-tracks Jimmy Davis on guitar and vocals. The "Lazarus Edition" includes unreleased tracks from that live recording and two historical live tracks featuring legendary Sun Records rhythm section band members including Roland Janes, Stan Kessler, Cowboy Jack Clement, Billy Lee Riley and J.M. Van Eaton.

I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone (Lazarus Edition) is a reflection of Dickinson's lifelong affinity for songs that have style, substance and, are at the same time, truthful. Dickinson is very much alive on these incendiary tracks reaffirming the prescient contention that gives this remarkable set its title.

More Information
Catalog Number MIR2029
Release Date Apr 5, 2017
Artist James Luther Dickinson feat. North Mississippi Allstars
Record Label Memphis International Records
Music Genre Blues
Explicit Content No
Format CD
Number of Discs 1
Box Lot Quantity 30
Track List
  1. Redneck, Blue Collar
  2. Lazarus
  3. All Out of Blue
  4. Hadacol Boogie
  5. Fraulein
  6. Band Intro
  7. Somewhere Down the Road
  8. Midnight Rider
  9. Ubangi Stomp
  10. I Forgot to Remember To Forget
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
© 2021 Memphis International Records. All Rights Reserved.